Skip to product information
1 of 2

Ubiquity Records

Soundsci "Soundsational" LP

Soundsci "Soundsational" LP

Regular price $21.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $21.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Track List

A1) Understand The Message

A2) Inner Energy

A3) That's Life

A4) Bust 'Em (In The Dome)

A5) Coastin'

B1) Soundsational

B2) Deception

B3) Rastaman

B4) Get Even

B5) Styles

View full details


Inspired by songs from Mike James Kirkland's "Don't Sell Your Soul" anthology from his earlier days as part of "Mike And the Censations", the album title itself pays homage to the amazing source material that's been sampled, chopped and reconstructed while preserving the soul of the originals. The result are 10 songs that delve deep into Hip-hop's Golden Era with the boom-bap sound and soul samples combined to create an instant classic.

Fresh off finishing Soundsci's independently released first album Formula 99, Ollie Teeba reached out to Jonny Cuba about how great the music was from Mr. Kirkland's anthology and they started work on crafting an EP with no certain plans for release. Before any of the beats were finalized Audessey hears one of the tracks and immediately wants to "get down". The four track EP was then sent to Ubiquity with some background on the project and based on the quality and potential of the demos, four songs were definitely not enough and a full album needed to happen. "Soundsational" is the culmination of all this inspiration and effort and is a worthy addition to the classic albums that fueled it's creation.