Skip to product information
1 of 2

Luv N' Haight

Mike James Kirkland "Hang On In There" LP

Mike James Kirkland "Hang On In There" LP

Regular price $24.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $24.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Track List

A1) What Have We Done       

A2) Where's The Soul Of Man?

A3) Hang On In There

B1) Baby I Need Your Loving

B2) Give It To Me

B3) Blota Blota

B4) You're Gonna Share Your Love

B5) It's Alright With Me

View full details


The cover of the title track "Hang On In There" by John Legend and The Roots on their album "Wake Up" won a Grammy in 2011 for Best Traditional R&B Performance.

"Well, here it is, dig it, then decide for yourself. This is truth to me, because it's what I feel is real. Hey, I'm by no means trying to shrink heads. I just want to let you know where my head's at. Check it out; for those of you that can get to the message, I say, LOVE, and to those of you who can't, I say, 'HANG ON IN THERE'."
- Mike James Kirkland (taken from original back cover to "Hang On In There")

As the 1960s were drawing to a close Mike James Kirkland was inspired to interject social commentary into his musical output along with a more funky- soul and experimental side to the production. First he released "Together" b/w "The prophet" on Bryan in 1971. And he followed this up with the amazing "Hang on in there" LP in 1972. The original album and all bonus 7" cuts are included on our re-issue.

"If we were on a bigger label we would have done amazing things," reminisces Kirkland. "But we did the best we could. I'm amazed that John Legend has decided to cover the title track of my first album, that's very cool."

After the release of Hang on In There and Doin It Right (another Luv N'Haight re-issue) Kirkland changed his name to Bo Kirkland, apparently to avoid confusion with the newly-turned-solo-artist Michael Jackson. The first single release under his new moniker, "Grandfather Clock reached #80 on theR&B charts in 1975. This was the prelude to him joining forces with Ruth Davis (formerly of the Ikettes) and the release of the classic "You're gonna get next to me" in 1976.